News Section

209 Sqn Annual Presentation Evening 2012

Article posted: Mar 08, 2012 by Sqn Ldr Wilson

209 (West Bridgford) Squadron held its annual awards and presentation evening at the Albert Hall in Nottingham over the weekend. Over eighty people attended and the guest of honour was the Mayor of Rushcliffe, Councillor Gordon Moore.

The evening began with 209s Commanding Officer, Flight Lieutenant Steven Richards listing all the Sqns activities and achievements over the last year which included the Cadets raising over £1800 towards the Sqns Funds.

Many Awards were presented during the evening but the award for Overall Best Cadet went to Cadet Zoe Kirk (14). Zoe who attends West Bridgford School said of her time with 209, “I’ve really enjoyed the flying, gliding, shooting and weekend camps. I’m looking forward to completing my Bronze Duke of Edinburgh Award.”

A new award was presented this year for Sports Achievement. Mick Jennings was a former Cadet and an instructor with 209 Sqn. He sadly passed away and in his memory two members of staff donated an engraved glass trophy. This was awarded to the Best Male and Female Cadets in Sport who were Cadets Fajar Rizal and Zoe Kirk.

The Mayor said “I am very proud and pleased to be invited to 209s Presentation Evening. It was particularly poignant to award the Mick Jennings Sports Trophy as I knew Mick through his involvement in the Police, football and work with the Cropwell Bishop Scouts.”

The Award for Best New Cadet went to Cadet Laura Toplass. This year we had a new trophy for this award which was donated by Councillor Mary Males who was the previous Mayor of Rushcliffe and was last years guest of honour.

Other Awards presented were.

Best NCO, Cpl Serena Linley
Drill and Deportment, Cpl Stephanie Willett
Fieldcraft Award, Cdt Sam Baxter
Shooting Award, Cdt Navraj Boughan
Community Award, Cpl Sarah Bramley
Flying and Gliding Award, Cdts Eddie McManus and Dominic Kay
Poppy Award, Cdts Dominic Kay and Laura Toplass
Attendance Award, Cdt Mead
Best Flight, ‘B’ Flight
CO’s Cup, FS (ATC) Shane Grice and Sgt (ATC) Jade Brock
Wing Blues were awarded to Cadets Laura Toplass, Zoe Kirk and Fajar Rizal.
Activity First Aid, CI Barry Hanson.
Cdt Lydia Welham was promoted to Corporal and Cpl Serena Linley was promoted to Sergeant.