News Section

Derby Win Punch Trophy for Third Time

Article posted: Apr 02, 2011 by Sqn Ldr Wilson

126 (City of Derby) Squadron has won the Punch Trophy for the third consecutive year after coming runners up in the Battle of Britain shooting competition.

The team from Derby consisted of 5 members – Flt Sgt Taisiya Marsh, Flt Sgt Charlotte Chetwyn, Flt Sgt Lee Kemp, Sgt Dean Cottrill and Cpl Alice Southall. The team travelled to Bisley at the weekend to compete against Army and Air Cadets in the national Battle of Britain shooting competition.

Derby’s shooting team is coached by Sergeants Ben Hirst and Helen Southall (ATC). The team travelled to Bisley the day before the competition to get in some last minute training on one of the ATC SCATT machines. This computer technology involves attaching a laser to the rifle and conducting dry training in order to monitor a cadet’s marksmanship technique.

The last minute training paid off as the team came second in the competition overall. They narrowly missed out on first place by one point. First place was taken by another ATC unit, Cardiff Squadron. 126 Squadron did however win the Punch Trophy in the Inter Service competition.

Individual team members scored very highly in the competition. Cpl Southall, the youngest member of the team, came third out of all of the cadets participating. This was an incredible achievement for Cpl Southall, competing against the best shots not only in the ATC but also from the Army cadets.

Sgt Ben Hirst (ATC), the squadron team coach said, “The cadets shot really well. The competition went down to the last few shots. The scores were out of 800 so it was a really close run competition. This achievement is a good start to a busy summer of shooting competitions for us. Our sights are now set on the ISCRM meet at Bisley in July.”_